What is gluten and how do I maintain a gluten-free diet?
Gluten is a protein found in the endosperm of cereal grains such as wheat, barley, rye and triticale. Gluten is a combination of two smaller proteins – glutenin and gliadin. Gluten can help to trap carbon dioxide to add volume to the product and can also maintain its shape. It is responsible for the elastic texture of dough and chewiness in many baked products. To maintain a gluten-free diet, there are some ingredients to absolutely avoid in food and drinks: wheat, rye, barley, triticale, bulgur, durum, farina, graham flour and semolina. Most of the following carbohydrate-rich foods should be also avoided, unless stated otherwise as gluten-free: beer, bread, cakes, cereals, cookies, gravies, imitation seafood, processed meats, oats, pasta, salad dressings, sauces and soups. There are grains and starches available that are gluten free: buckwheat, corn, amaranth, arrowroot, cornmeal, rice, tapioca, quinoa, corn tortillas, and flour made from rice, soy, corn and potatoes. Foods that are naturally gluten free are fresh meats, fish, poultry, fruits, vegetables, some dairy products and wine. References: Canadian Celiac Association. Resources for people who need to eat gluten free. Celiac Support Association. Promoting a Gluten-Free You.DNA In the News2017-04-06T19:04:52+00:00